Main Media English

Get Latest News, India News, World News at Main Media English

Support Us

Patliputra Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP’s Ram Kripal Yadav to face off against RJD’s Misa Bharti in the battle for Pataliputra

Sitting BJP MP Ram Kripal Yadav will contest against Lalu Prasad’s eldest daughter & Rajya Sabha member Misa Bharti from the Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat for the third time in a row. The Patliputra constituency was carved out from the erstwhile Patna constituency after the delimitation in 2008.

Main-Media-Logo Reported By Main Media |
Published On :

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s family is unable to dissociate itself from Bihar’s Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat despite facing defeats in three successive parliamentary elections.

Sitting BJP MP Ram Kripal Yadav will contest against Lalu Prasad’s eldest daughter & Rajya Sabha member Misa Bharti from the Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat for the third time in a row. The Patliputra constituency was carved out from the erstwhile Patna constituency after the delimitation in 2008.

Also Read Story

Lok Sabha Election 2024: Will Trinamool Retain Its Victory In Jangipur?

Can BJP Change Raiganj’s Pattern of Non-Repeated Mandates Since 2009?

RJD announces 22 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Bihar

Nitish Kumar accused Tejashwi Yadav of falsely claiming credit for jobs

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Paswan factor gives NDA edge in Hajipur Lok Sabha Seat

Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Congress Manifesto Promises Mahalakshmi for Women, MSP Guarantee for Farmers, and Vows to Abolish Agnipath Scheme

JD-U MP Dulal Chandra Goswami Expresses Confidence in Replicating his 2019 Performance

SJVN Ltd signs an MoU with IIT Patna to speed up work on tunnelling projects

Pappu Yadav files nomination from Purnea as Independent candidate

Lalu Family’s Consecutive Defeat

Lalu Prasad lost the Lok Sabha election from Pataliputra in 2009, while Misa Bharti was defeated in the 2014 and 2019 elections by BJP’s Ram Kripal Yadav.

The RJD chief was defeated by Ranjan Prasad Yadav of JD-U with a margin of 23,541 votes in 2009. Lalu Prasad secured over 2.45 lakh votes while Ranjan Prasad Yadav got more than 2.69 lakh votes.

Ram Kripal Yadav, a native of Patna & former RJD leader was considered a close aide of Lalu Prasad in the past. But, he joined the BJP in 2014 after the RJD refused to field him from the Pataliputra seat.

Ram Kripal Yadav defeated Misa Bharti with a margin of 40,322 votes in the 2014 election and with the margins of 39,321 votes in the 2019 parliamentary poll.

Past Winners of Patliputra Lok Sabha








1984 – C. P. THAKUR – INC


1991 – IK Gujral from JD Vs Yashwant Sinha from BJP. Election cancelled by commission over booth capturing allegations. (Countermanded)



1998 – C.P.THAKUR – BJP

1999 – C.P.THAKUR – BJP



2014 – Ram Kripal Yadav – BJP

2019 – Ram Kripal Yadav – BJP

‘Misa Bharti Never Visits The Constituency’

“Ram Kripal Yadav is a seasoned politician. He works round the clock. He does not ignore even a phone call from any person from his constituency… Due to his people’s friendly image, voters of all sections have a great respect for him. Even RJD workers admire his works on the ground,” told BJP OBC wing National General Secretary Nikhil Anand.

“On the other hand, Misa Bharti never visits the constituency. After her defeat in the 2014 Lok Sabha election, she visited Pataliputra in 2019 and lost again. Now, she is visiting the constituency again after a gap of five years for the election,” he added.

2020 Assembly Election Results

Although the BJP candidate has won two successive elections, the 2020 Assembly elections’ data favours the Mahagathbandhan.

The Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat comprises six assembly segments – Danapur, Maner, Phulwari, Masaurhi, Paliganj, and Bikram and all were won by the Mahagathbandhan led by RJD in 2020.

In 2020 Bihar legislative assembly elections, Mahagathbandhan & NDA had secured 5,28,032 and 3,30,454 votes respectively in the Patliputra Lok Sabha area.

Danapur 89895 73971
Maner 94223 61306
Phulwari 91124 77267
Masaurhi 98696 66469
Paliganj 67917 37002
Bikram 86177 14439 50717
Total 528032 330454 50717

Bhai Virendra, the RJD MLA from Maner, said: “The people of all the six assembly constituencies which come under Pataliputra have voted for us and the same thing will be repeated in the 2024 Lok Sabha election. Misa Bharti will win the Lok Sabha election this time.”

Caste Equation & Number of Voters

The Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency has more than 20 lakh eligible voters. The voters belonging to Yadav, Bhumihar, Rajput, Kurmi, Dalit and Muslim communities have a sizable population there.

Electors as per proposed Final Roll w.r.t.
01.01.2024 as the qualifying date
No. Assembly Name Male Female Third Gender Total Voters
186 Danapur 194683 173289 9 367981
187 Maner 180769 162690 9 343468
188 Phulwari (SC) 203192 180986 11 384189
189 Masaurhi (SC) 180201 167056 2 347259
190 Paliganj 153128 140510 8 293646
191 Bikram 165219 150816 18 316053
Total Voters in Patliputra Lok Sabha 2052596

The Danapur assembly constituency is dominated by Yadavs, while Rajputs, Bhumihars and Kurmis also have a sizable vote bank there. In the 2020 assembly election, RJD’s Ritlal Yadav won the election from Danapur. He was also in the race for Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat.

In Phulwari(SC), Dalit and Muslim voters are in dominant positions and CPI(ML)-L candidate Gopal Ravidas had won the 2020 Assembly election from the seat.

In Paliganj, Yadavs, Bhumihars and Muslims have a sizable population. Sandeep Saurav of CPI(ML)-L is a sitting MLA from the seat.

In Masaurhi(SC), Yadav and Dalit voters play a key role. The seat was secured by Rekha Devi of RJD in 2020.

The Bikram seat was although won by Congress’ Sidhartha Saurav, the MLA later turned rebel and joined the BJP. Bhumihars and Rajputs have a significant population in Bikram.

In Maner, Bhai Virendra of RJD secured his fourth consecutive term in the 2020 Assembly election.

The Pataliputra parliamentary seat registered a 41 per cent voter turnout in the 2009 Lok Sabha election. While in 2014 and 2019, the constituency registered over 56 per cent voter turnout.

The voting for the Pataliputra constituency is slated for the seventh phase on June 1.

Get involved in bringing the ground realities of Seemanchal. Click the "Support Us" button to join our membership.

Support Us

Main Media is a hyper-local news platform covering the Seemanchal region, the four districts of Bihar – Kishanganj, Araria, Purnia, and Katihar. It is known for its deep-reported hyper-local reporting on systemic issues in Seemanchal, one of India’s most backward regions which is largely media dark.

Related News

RJD, Congress responsible for Maoist trouble, Jungle Raj in Bihar: PM Modi in Jamui

RJD Supremo Lalu Yadav always cheated me: Pappu Yadav

Pappu Yadav to contest from Purnea

CPI(ML) Liberation announces candidates for four Lok Sabha seats

INDIA bloc’s seat-sharing formula for Bihar announced

Chirag Paswan fields brother-in-law Arun Bharti from Jamui LS seat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *