Main Media English

Get Latest News, India News, World News at Main Media English

Support Us

Pappu Yadav merges his party with Congress ahead of LS elections

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar distributes portfolios to newly inducted Cabinet ministers

Nitish Kumar expands Cabinet, 21 legislators take oath as Ministers

More Politics News

Shifting Tides: The Evolving Political Landscape of Darjeeling Lok Sabha Constituency

As the 2024 Lok Sabha elections are just a few months away, the question of who will represent Darjeeling as the MP in this election becomes paramount. According to political analysts, the candidacy this time around may revolve around the theme of 'son of the land' versus 'outsider.' This is evident in the slogans raised by BJP MLA BP Bajgain from Kurseong in the Darjeeling hill region, who has repeatedly emphasised the 'Bahari-Bahari' aspect in relation to Darjeeling MP Raju Bisht, who is from the same party, the BJP.

Araria Lok Sabha Seat: A Political Journey through the Decades

Before, becoming a new Parliamentary constituency in 1967 by delimitation, Araria was part of the Purnea Parliamentary constituency. In the 1967 general elections, Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Tulmohan Ram garnered an impressive 1,34,162 votes and defeated BJS candidate J. Ram by a margin of 70,649 votes.

Patna High Court Clears the Way for Caste-Based Survey in Bihar

On Tuesday, the Patna High Court made a significant ruling, allowing for a caste-based survey in Bihar. The court dismissed five Public Interest Litigations (PILs) that had challenged various aspects of the survey. The bench, consisting of Chief Justice K Vinod Chandran and Justice Partha Sarthy, had reserved judgment on the matter on July 7. […]

History of Purnia Lok Sabha Constituency: Past Winners and Elections

Established during the British Empire in 1770, Purnia stands as one of Bihar’s oldest districts, with a rich and illustrious history. However, a dark chapter once marred the region, as dacoit gangs instilled terror across the area stretching from Purnia to Nepal. P.C. Roy Chaudhary, in the District Gazetteer of Purnia, recounted the region’s harsh […]

Shershahbadi Muslims encroach upon the land of Dalits – Jitan Ram Manjhi alleges in Seemanchal

Former Chief Minister of Bihar and Hindustani Aawam Morcha (Secular) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi alleged on Saturday that the Shershahbadi Muslim community is encroaching lands belonging to the Scheduled Castes. Manjhi visited Kishanganj on his tour as a member of the Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe Committee of the Bihar Legislative Assembly, which studies the implementation of […]

Ignored by TMC & BJP in Rajya Sabha Elections – Gorkhas No More Politically Significant in North Bengal?

Voting for 11 Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal, Gujarat, and Goa will take place on July 24. However, there won’t be any voting in West Bengal as all seven seats for which voting was scheduled have been won uncontested by the candidates. Among these candidates, six are from the Trinamool Congress – Derek O’Brien, […]

Mamata’s close aide Anit Thapa emerged victorious in Darjeeling Panchayat Elections, BJP’s multi-party alliance failed

In the West Bengal Panchayat elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to work its magic in the Darjeeling hill region. The BJP has been successful in not just one, but three consecutive Lok Sabha elections in Darjeeling. Not only that, the BJP had won the Darjeeling Assembly seat in both the 2019 by-election and […]