Main Media English

Get Latest News, India News, World News at Main Media English

Support Us

ILT20: Simon Taufel, Aleem Dar to lead season 2 match officials panel

IANS logo Reported By IANS |
Published On :

Dubai, Jan 13 (IANS) Two of the most respected umpires in cricket history Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar spearhead the ILT20 Season 2 match officials panel. Both Taufel and Dar will be the on-field umpires for the tournament opener between defending champions Gulf Giants and Sharjah Warriors on Friday, at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The legendary duo who umpired the 2011 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup final and the 2012 ICC T20 World Cup final will now be coming back together for the opening match of the DP World ILT20 Season 2.

Also Read Story

Empty chairs, forced attendance allegations cast shadow on INDIA bloc’s Delhi rally

Nagaland’s sole LS seat to witness triangular contest in 2024 polls

Odisha Crime Branch busts racket involved in Rs 1.04 cr fraud

IPL 2024: Under-pressure Mumbai Indians hope to shine in home comfort (Preview)

IPL 2024: Sai Sudharsan, David Miller star as clinical Gujarat beat Hyderabad by seven wickets

Viksit Bharat Ambassador meet-up: India is world’s 3rd largest start-up ecosystem today, says I&B Minister Anurag Thakur

Amit Shah chairs meeting of Lok Sabha core committees in Jaipur, holds roadshow in Sikar

IPL 2024: Ishant Sharma back as Delhi Capitals win toss, elect to bat against CSK

Viksit Bharat Ambassador Jaipur meet-up: Participants heap praise on the initiative

Besides Taufel and Dar, the ILT20 Season 2 match official panel includes some of the most prominent umpires and match referees who are actively involved in all three international cricket formats.

South Africa’s Adrain Holdstock and Australia’s Rod Tucker – both from ICC Elite Panel, Sri Lanka’s Ruchira Palliyaguruge, England’s Martin Saggers, Australia’s Paul Wilson and Leslie Reifer of West Indies will be umpiring the 34-match tournament. Roshan Mahanama, Steve Bernard and Taufel will be the match referees – Taufel will join match referees panel after umpiring the opener.

“I am very excited to return to the UAE for ILT20’s Season 2. It was a great experience to lead the match officials panel last year and closely interact with some of the upcoming UAE ICC International Panel umpires. The DP World ILT20 is certainly a fine platform for young players. We are also incorporating two specialised TV umpires for the first time to improve accuracy and time efficiency – Paul Wilson from Australia and Leslie Reifer from West Indies,” said Simon Taufell.

With global cricket fans guaranteed of high-octane entertainment, as the Gulf region’s biggest T20 extravaganza that holds a distinction of being the second-highest watched T20 league around the world promises yet another blockbuster Season between January 19 and February 17, the organisers have ensured the league is played under the watchful eyes of globally-acclaimed umpires.

While Australia’s Taufel was also part of the ILT20 Season 1 match official panel, Aleem Dar – record holder for most Tests and ODIs as on field umpire (145 and 231) makes his maiden DP World ILT20 appearance.

“I am eager and excited to be part of the DP World ILT20 which has emerged as one of the leading T20 leagues globally. The tournament provides a unique opportunity for players, particular from UAE to shine on an international stage and rub shoulders with some of the most reputed players in the world. I am delighted to be part of the match officials panel this year and look forward to a great season,” said Aleem Dar.

The ILT20 Season 2 features some of the greatest stars in the game including Australia’s World Cup hero David Warner, Andre Russell, David Willey, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Alex Hales, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Jordan, Trent Boult, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Woakes and Maheesh Theekshana

More than 100 international and 25 UAE players will feature in the tournament. The month-long League will be held in iconic venues in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai with the Final scheduled to be played on February 17 at the famed ‘Ring of Fire’ Dubai International Stadium.



(This report is auto-generated from IANS news service. 'Main Media' holds no responsibility for its content.)

Get involved in bringing the ground realities of Seemanchal. Click the "Support Us" button to join our membership.

Support Us

Related News

Pawar vs Pawar: A fight for supremacy in Baramati

Rebel Wilson opens up on weight loss journey, says she’s an emotional eater

Shraddha Kapoor asks fans how they wasted 1st quarter of 2024

PM Modi virtually interacts with party workers in Varanasi

AIADMK will ally again with BJP after LS elections, says Chidambaram

PE-VC investments fall by 8 per cent to $6.2 billion in Q1

Cut! Mark Ronson’s role in Amy Winehouse biopic gets axed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *