Main Media English

Get Latest News, India News, World News at Main Media English

Support Us

Gaddam Prasad Kumar to be elected unopposed as Telangana Assembly Speaker

IANS logo Reported By IANS |
Published On :

Hyderabad, Dec 13 (IANS) Senior Congress MLA Gaddam Prasad Kumar is set to be elected unopposed to the Telangana Assembly Speaker’s post.

He filed the nomination on Wednesday and as he is the only person to file his nomination for the post, his election on Thursday will only be a formality.

Also Read Story

Empty chairs, forced attendance allegations cast shadow on INDIA bloc’s Delhi rally

Nagaland’s sole LS seat to witness triangular contest in 2024 polls

Odisha Crime Branch busts racket involved in Rs 1.04 cr fraud

IPL 2024: Under-pressure Mumbai Indians hope to shine in home comfort (Preview)

IPL 2024: Sai Sudharsan, David Miller star as clinical Gujarat beat Hyderabad by seven wickets

Viksit Bharat Ambassador meet-up: India is world’s 3rd largest start-up ecosystem today, says I&B Minister Anurag Thakur

Amit Shah chairs meeting of Lok Sabha core committees in Jaipur, holds roadshow in Sikar

IPL 2024: Ishant Sharma back as Delhi Capitals win toss, elect to bat against CSK

Viksit Bharat Ambassador Jaipur meet-up: Participants heap praise on the initiative

The main Opposition party, the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) has also extended support to Kumar.

Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy, Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, some ministers, BRS working president KT Rama Rao and CPI MLA K Sambasiva Rao were present when Kumar filed the nomination before the Legislature Secretary. KT Rama Rao also signed the nomination papers of Kumar.

Protem Speaker Akbaruddin Owaisi will announce the unanimous election of Kumar as the Speaker.

On December 9, Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan administered oath to Akbaruddin Owaisi as the Protem Speaker of the Assembly.

About 100 MLAs including the Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Minister and ministers had taken oath before him.

All eight MLAs of the BJP and remaining MLAs of other parties will take oath before the Speaker on Thursday.

The Congress won 64 seats in the recently-concluded Assembly polls and formed the government on December 7. It had announced the name of Kumar as the Speaker the same day.

A Dalit leader, Kumar has been selected keeping his vast experience in view. Elected from Vikarabad constituency in the recent elections, Prasad had served as a minister in the Congress government in united Andhra Pradesh. He will be the third Assembly Speaker after the formation of Telangana. S. Madhusudhana Chary was the first Speaker while he was succeeded by Pocharam Srinivas Reddy.

After the election of the Speaker, the Assembly will take up the election of Deputy Speaker. The Congress party is likely to name Parkal MLA Revuri Prakash Reddy as the Deputy Speaker. Prakash Reddy, a senior legislator, had quit the BJP to join the Congress party a few days before the election. He was with the TDP before joining BJP.



(This report is auto-generated from IANS news service. 'Main Media' holds no responsibility for its content.)

Get involved in bringing the ground realities of Seemanchal. Click the "Support Us" button to join our membership.

Support Us

Related News

Pawar vs Pawar: A fight for supremacy in Baramati

Rebel Wilson opens up on weight loss journey, says she’s an emotional eater

Shraddha Kapoor asks fans how they wasted 1st quarter of 2024

PM Modi virtually interacts with party workers in Varanasi

AIADMK will ally again with BJP after LS elections, says Chidambaram

PE-VC investments fall by 8 per cent to $6.2 billion in Q1

Cut! Mark Ronson’s role in Amy Winehouse biopic gets axed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *