Main Media English

Get Latest News, India News, World News at Main Media English

Support Us

Centre notifies appointment of three judges in SC

IANS logo Reported By IANS |
Published On :

New Delhi, Nov 9 (IANS) The President has appointed three high court chief justices as judges of the Supreme Court.

The names of Justices Satish Chandra Sharma, Augustine George Masih andSandeep Mehta were cleared by the Centre within a period of two days after the Supreme Court Collegium, headed by CJI D.Y. Chandrachud, on November 7 recommended the elevation of these three high court Chief Justices as the judges of apex court.

Also Read Story

realme C67 5G sets new benchmark with highest offline sales in C Series

Parliament security breach: One more detained from Karnataka

K’taka cop sentenced to 7-yr prison term for submitting fake caste certificate

Andhra medical student killed in US

Mid & small-caps remain vulnerable to correction since valuations are excessive

Taraji P. Henson is ‘tired’ of being underpaid in Hollywood

West Indies include 7 uncapped players in Test squad for Australia series

I-T recovers unaccounted cash, gold & crucial documents from Trinamool MLA’s home

CM Vijayan writes to Prez, complains against Guv Khan

“The Swearing-in-Ceremony of Hon’ble Mr Justice Satish Chandra Sharma, Chief Justice, High Court of Delhi, Hon’ble Mr Justice Augustine George Masih, Chief Justice, High Court of Rajasthan and Hon’ble Mr Justice Sandeep Mehta, Chief Justice, Gauhati High Court as Judges of the Supreme Court of India is proposed to be held on Thursday 9 November, 2023 at 4.15 P.M. in the Auditorium, 3rd Floor,”C” Block, Additional Building Complex, Supreme Court Premises,” read a circular issued by the apex court.

After the swearing in of three new judges, the Supreme Court will function with a full strength of 34 judges.

Justice Sharma was appointed as a Judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court on January 18, 2008. He was elevated as Chief Justice of the High Court of Telangana on October 11, 2021 and thereafter, transferred to High Court of Delhi on June 28, 2022. Justice Sharma has served as a judge of the High Court for more than 15 years and as Chief Justice of the High Court for more than two years.

Justice Masih was appointed as a Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court on July 10, 2008. He was elevated as Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court on May 30.

Justice Mehta was appointed as a judge of the Rajasthan High Court on May 30, 2011. Having attained seniority in his parent high court, he was elevated as the Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court and is serving there since February 15. He has served as a high court judge for more than 12 years.



(This report is auto-generated from IANS news service. 'Main Media' holds no responsibility for its content.)

Get involved in bringing the ground realities of Seemanchal. Click the "Support Us" button to join our membership.

Support Us

Related News

Combating terrorism in Afghanistan ‘immediate priority’: India

Tiffany Haddish pleads not guilty to DUI charge

K’taka police dept invokes KCOCA Act against 12 accused in KEA exam scam

Death toll from Hurricane Otis rises to 52 in Mexico

Four days after winning Big Boss, Prashanth lands in jail

Nuno Espirito Santo named Nottingham Forest’s new head coach

Parl security breach accused grilled together by Special Cell, 4 to be produced in court today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *